Jean-François Michel

Jean-François Michel
+ 32 2 510 52 09
+32 478 94 00 55
jf.michel@crosslaw.be
Brussels
French
Dutch
English
Spanish

Jean-François started his career in 2000 at the IP/IT department of Linklaters. In 2001 he joined the commercial department of De Wolf & Partners where he became partner in 2013. Together with Luc Stalars he provides assistance to both national and foreign companies and advices them in their day-to-day activities in all their aspects.

The focus of Jean-François lies first and foremost with contract drafting and assistance with drafting operational contracts, administering Belgian and foreign litigation and arbitration proceedings. He sets himself to industrial and commercial project, service contracts (EPC, turnkey, maintenance), distribution law, leasing, renting and business cooperation agreement. He is responsible for a multitude of commercial court cases.

Jean-François has extensive practical business sense of companies for which he regularly offers in-house legal assistance.

Jean-François has also acquired considerable know-how of French law, as well as regulated business sectors such as competition law, leasing, energy law, pharmaceutical law and food law. He is well-versed in sport law.

Since 1 July 2015 he has joined Crosslaw, a partnership close to its clients and which embraces the new developments within modern legal practice, IT and communication technology.

Education

Master of Laws, Université de Liège (ULG), 1999
Specialisatieopleiding Inhouse counsel, University of Ghent (UGent), 2000

Bar membership

Member of the Brussels Bar (Ordre français des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles)

Other activities

Ancien de la Table Ronde, Cercle de Wallonie, Cepani 40, Jeune Barreau de Bruxelles, Club Porsche Francorchamps

Did you know ?

#104
During the period from 2013 until now, we have assisted a media company with various issues related to mobile television service, e.g. rights clearing, data protection and the drafting and negotiating of agreements in relation to the development and hosting of the mobile television platform.

Jean-François Michel

Jean-François Michel
+ 32 2 510 52 09
+32 478 94 00 55
jf.michel@crosslaw.be
Bruxelles
Français
Néerlandais
Anglais
Espagnol

Jean-François a fait ses armes en 2000 chez Linklaters dans le département IP/IT. En 2001, il s’est tourné vers De Wolf & Partners au sein du département commercial et y est devenu associé en 2013. Aux côtés de Luc Stalars, il assiste et conseille, les entreprises, nationales et étrangères, dans leur quotidien et à tous niveaux.

Jean-François a une pratique tournée vers la rédaction de contrats et l’assistance contractuelle opérationnelle, la procédure judiciaire, belge et étrangère, ainsi que l’arbitrage (inter)national. Il est tourné vers les projets industriels et commerciaux, les contrats d’entreprise (EPC, turnkey, maintenance), distribution, leasing, renting, coopération commerciale. Il diligente de nombreuses procédures de contentieux commercial.

Jean-François a une solide expérience de terrain en entreprises où il fournit régulièrement du support juridique in house.

Jean-François a également développé une connaissance significative en droit français, ainsi que dans les secteurs réglementés, tels que le droit de la concurrence, le leasing, le droit de l’énergie, le droit pharmaceutique, ainsi que le droit alimentaire. Il est également expérimenté dans le droit du sport.

Depuis le 1er juillet 2015, Jean-François a rejoint Crosslaw, structure proche de ses clients, en phase avec l'évolution de la pratique juridique et des technologies de l’information et de la communication.

Diplômes

Licence en droit, Université de Liège (ULG), 1999
Specialisatieopleiding Bedrijfsjurist, Université de Gand (UGent), 2000

Barreau

Ordre français des avocats du Barreau de Bruxelles

Autres activités

Ancien de la Table Ronde, Cercle de Wallonie, Cepani 40, Jeune Barreau de Bruxelles, Club Porsche Francorchamps

Le saviez-vous ?

#119
Did you know that credits for our portraits go to Louis David (louisdavidphotography.com). We think he did an amazing job, what do you think?